- ([info]entangledbank) wrote,
@ 2004-08-20 15:58:00
Previous Entry  Add to memories!  Tell a Friend!  Next Entry
Current mood: amused
Current music:Mahler, Symphony No. 7

Spam that almost passes the non-stupidity test
Occasionally for amusement I check the quarantined bulk e-mails for new mutations. Here's a subject header that certainly took my eye:


Sender "Zhenthim74" <supportexplorer@sweforums.com>
Subject What does this post mean? Your email was provided in comments
Text
Why did you post this message at www.sweforums.com (In the third window). Your email was provided in comments. What does this post mean?
I'll contact your internet provider if you do not delete it in 5 hours. Delete this information asap. Our operators will check it in 5 hours.

Sweforum team
10155 S. Knoll Circle
Highlands Ranch,
CO 80130
United States


That's really impressive. They're out to catch you, and for many a typical user it could well ring alarm bells. Even if they themself don't post their e-mail address in comments it's quite possible someone else could. And the way it's written is just so cool and professional. It's not "What does this post mean? ...oceanographic" or the like. And pointing out the window; and a full postal address. My, my.

Pity the To-list contains nine visible names all in the ZE-range of the same ISP. Then copying the text to here reveals the white bits contain the usual preacherflannelspreventedBhutancontract stuff. But nice try.

A websearch shows that there's a bona fide entity sweforum, and that this fake plural version sweforums has only just been registered.


Create an Account
Forgot your login?
Login w/ OpenID
English • Español • Deutsch • Русский…